Skip to content


The GMCA is run jointly by the leaders of the ten councils and the Mayor of Greater Manchester, Andy Burnham. The Chief Executive of the GMCA is Eamonn Boylan.

The Mayor joins Greater Manchester’s Combined Authority as its chair and eleventh member. He is also the portfolio lead for Transport. The leaders of the 10 councils (which includes the Salford City Mayor) will form the Mayor’s Cabinet. 

Deputy mayors and cabinet members

Each of the Portfolio Leads have appointed deputy members to assist them with their area of responsibility.

Assistant portfolio holders for 2018/19

CA Member

Assistant Portfolio Holder


Young People and Cohesion

Rishi Shori

Wendy Wild

Education, Skills, Work & Apprenticeships

Sean Fielding

Joanne Harding


Richard Leese

Ebrahim Adia


Andy Burnham

Mark Aldred

Housing, Homelessness and Infrastructure

Paul Dennett

Leanne Feeley


Green City-Region

Alex Ganotis

Anne-Marie Watters


Linda Thomas

Sameena Zaheer

Safe and Strong Communities

Bev Hughes

Paula Boshell

Healthy Lives and Quality Care

Peter Smith

Andrea Simpson

Age-Friendly Greater Manchester & Equalities

Brenda Warrington

Jenny Bullen

Community, Cooperatives and Inclusion

Allen Brett

Angeliki Stogia

Digital City-Region

Andrew Western

Arooj Shah


David Molyneux

Sharon Briggs