Skip to content


Greater Manchester (GM) is home to nearly 3 million people, it stretches from the Lancashire moors in the north, to Cheshire farmlands in the south: from the Merseyside border in the west, to the Yorkshire dales in the east.

It's made up of ten council areas: Bolton, Bury, Manchester, Oldham, Rochdale, Salford, Stockport, Tameside, Trafford and Wigan.

These local councils have worked together voluntarily for many years on things that affect everyone in the region. Now they have formalised their relationship through the GMCA (Greater Manchester Combined Authority).

Work without barriers

Although you'll be more familiar with what your own local council does - collecting bins and running libraries for example - you'll probably recognise some services that are already run at a Greater Manchester level: like Greater Manchester Transport, GM Police and GM Fire services.

It makes sense to deliver these things across the region because it's more cost-effective and efficient to work without barriers. We are stronger together.